Lecture Posts

And so it begins…

I went to my first J2150 lecture today, and I think this course will be really fun. The full lecture has less than 30 people in it, and some of my classmates seem as nervous as I am about the assignments. The professor seems really nice, though, and I am guaranteed to learn a lot this summer.

Because this is a multimedia journalism class, we will be learning to tell stories with video, audio and photos along with text. In today’s Internet-savvy world, multimedia journalism is in more demand than ever. Stories can be uploaded to a site within minutes and in several different forms. Journalists tweet breaking news, write a complete story, include emotional photos and post a dynamic video, all on connected topics. This form of story-telling is needed to give the reader a more complete sense of “what’s going on.”

Because of its increasing popularity, more universities and colleges are offering courses in multimedia/convergence journalism. These courses are not limited to the United States, but are popping up all over the world. The media giant ABS-CBN Corporation is based in the Phillipines and posted this story about a new multimedia journalism program offered by the Konrad Adenauer Asian Center for Journalism, which is part of Ateneo de Manila University in Quezon City:

Diploma in multimedia journalism offered

Clearly, J2150 is an important part of my education here in the Journalism School at the University of Missouri-Columbia. Though I am a little intimidated by all of the software and equipment that I am not used to using, I realize that learning it now can only help me and my career in the long run.

Leave a Reply

