Lecture Posts

What makes a good video?

Two weeks after our previous lecture, we finally returned to Lee Hills Hall to talk about editing video. Professor Rice showed us several examples of good videos, ok videos and one that was pretty bad (he prefaced it by saying everything about it was wrong). This is to help us as we begin shooting for our 30-second project due next week, hopefully keeping all of the techniques and tips he gave us in mind while shooting.

In News 2100, I made two videos. They weren’t bad, but they weren’t great either. One thing I know I need to avoid for this video is “jump cuts.” This is when there’s an obvious break in very similar shots. It’s tempting to simply cut out unnecessary words or dialogue, but it’s very distracting to see that something is obviously missing when a jump cut occurs.

As for a relevant article, I found this site maintained by the Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism. Essentially, these students have compiled techniques and tips for those who are going into video. I think it’s a great site because it’s easy to navigate and find exactly what you’re looking for. To access it, just click on this link: Berkeley Tutorial.

I know I promised a page about the Columbia Entertainment Company’s production of “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee,” and I’m working on it! Between Spanish class and J2150, I have a lot on my plate, but I’m working as fast as I can. I’ll be posting different things to the page as I find the time, so it may not be much to look at yet. It’ll be great, though!

Leave a Reply

