Lecture Posts

Final Project

As I was walking to lecture for the week, I realized I am now over the hump for this class. At first, I was really excited because I was one step closer to fall semester and finishing my prerequisites. Then, I was sad because it means summer’s halfway over (for me, anyway) and that I’m really done covering CEC. Finally, I was terrified because now we start work on the big, final project.

Working with CEC, fun as it was, it was also a lot of work for me because I was covering the story all by myself. The advantage to this is that I don’t have to depend on anyone else to get the work done; it’s all on me. For this project, I have three partners and the stakes are higher. This project is 200 points, and we don’t turn it in parts, but as a whole. This worries me because I’m not the best planner (and then follow-through-er).

Tomorrow, our groups present our story pitches. Because it’s a multimedia journalism class, it needs to be a multimedia package! This means that we cover the main theme, but focus on different stories within the theme using different media. Simple, right? Nope! It’s all about finding the right way to tell your story. You may have a great audio interview, but the visuals just aren’t there. If you try to use it as a full video, then you’ll lose the audience with its lack of visual appeal. It’s a nerve-wracking process, but my group hashed out the details today on three possible stories. Even if our ideas change, we have a general idea of ‘what works.’

To help prepare us for working on this final project, Professor Rice showed us examples of convergence projects from upper-level courses. I had already seen a few of these from J2100, but now that I know more about what goes into a good project, I was able to see mistakes made in the presentation of the story.

In keeping up with relevant links, here’s an example of telling a multimedia story: the Columbia Missourian covered “Art in the Park” using multiple media. They previewed the festival by focusing on youth participation in an article. They included a photo package to show the musical side of the festival. The Missourian also had a video focusing on the stifling weather and how it affected the festival. This is how multimedia journalism is supposed to work, by giving several stories in many ways all tied together. Here’s hoping we can find a good story to report!

Leave a Reply

