Lab Posts

Reflecting on J2150

Today was bittersweet. On the one hand, I’m so relieved that I am finished working on our final project for J2150. On the other hand, I’m sad that my time with this class is over. I learned so much and met so many great people! After presenting our final projects, we headed over to Shakespeare’s for celebratory pizza. It was nice to sit with everyone one last time before we head off to our different sequences (some of us still finishing our pre-reqs). I’m really going to miss everyone in our section!

As for our final projects, I could not be prouder of Group 1. This has been, by far, the best group project I’ve ever been a part of. Everyone participated, conducted interviews, contributed material and edited the final product. Joe Vozzelli did a great job with the article, despite having to do a major change of concept. Crystall Cho put together an awesome audio slideshow on Ironweed, even though we had limited photos to work with. Christine, editrix extraordinaire, did a fantastic job with the video and helping me fine-tune the final website. I am so proud to call these people my friends, and I think we did a great job covering the Shelter Gardens summer concert series.

I really enjoyed the other projects presented in our class. The Buck’s Ice Cream piece always made me hungry for Tiger Stripe ice cream. My favorite part of their website, though, was the history. They got permission to use historic photos of Buck’s Ice Cream Place and even of Buck himself. The process of making Tiger Stripe is so neat to watch, too. I also really enjoyed the elderberry story. Did you know it’s Missouri’s “superfruit”? No? Check it out! That’s what is so great about these projects: we’re really sharing information that someone could want to know.

Even though this class pushed me to work hard and took up a lot of time, I really did learn a lot and it helped me get comfortable with new technology. I can handle a fancy camera now. I can edit a passable video. I blog, for crying out loud! For all the complaining I may have done this summer, I know this class was worth the time, and I really will miss it. Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

