About Morgan

Practice!!

I’ve discovered that maintaining a blog is difficult if I don’t have a specific purpose. I started this blog because it was a requirement for J2150. Now that J2150 is over, I have no real motivation to write. When I do want to write, I don’t know what to write about. The only thing that can keep me going on a daily basis is Spanish or newspapers. Ok, here goes.

In Spanish today, we actually had a sing-along. It’s true!! We completed the lyrics to, then sang, “No es necesario” by Reyli Barba. We’ve been studying several tenses, so this song actually helped me apply what we’ve learned in real situations. We had an in-class composition on Friday, and I am a little worried about it. I always finish tests and compositions really quickly, and I feel like I’m not taking my time. We did get a quiz back, though, and I did well on that. Yay!

As for newspapers, I flip through The New York Times, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and the Columbia Missourian. The Missourian isn’t printed on Mondays, and I’ve already read the current Maneater, so it was just the Post-Dispatch and the Times today. My biggest problem today: comparing the sports sections. For those who don’t know, the US women’s soccer team pulled off a major victory yesterday in the Women’s World Cup over Brazil. When I opened up the Times, the front page of the sports section featured a full-color, half-page picture of…guys playing golf?! Yes, the top half of the front page of today’s New York Times sports section is devoted to a Northern Ireland golfer who has kept his religion (Catholic) downplayed. At the bottom of the page, you can see the beginning of a story on the World Cup game, with a picture of Abby Wambach, who scored the tying goal before penalty kicks. As I flipped to D4, I expected an average article with many pictures of an exultant US team and jubilant fans. I found the average article and some photos, but it took up less than half the page. A golfer gets the equivalent of a full page for atypical religious convictions for his area, but the US team beating favorite Brazil in the Women’s World Cup merits only half that?

Then, I went to the Post-Dispatch. Sure, the first thing on the sports page is the Cardinals’ latest win, but the rest of the page is devoted to the World Cup victory. There’s a huge picture on the fold and everything. Who did the better job here? I wish I had thought to take a picture of both pages before I recycled them. Well, hopefully tomorrow’s papers won’t be that upsetting to me.

Leave a Reply

