About Morgan

Exhaustion

I remember high school band camp, two solid weeks of practicing marching skills, rehearsing music and setting drill for the fall show. I remember intense sports camps, working hard to prepare for the season. What I don’t remember is feeling this tired. I am so exhausted that even sitting doesn’t bring me enough relief.

Why am I so tired? I have been training and working as a peer advisor for the last twelve days. Training was intense, scheduled from about 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. each day. We didn’t always go until 9, but there were other obligations to attend to, like bulletin boards and class materials. Often, I didn’t go to sleep until after 1 a.m.

With little sleep and less energy, training week is nothing compared to move-in days. Today, I stood in the rain for two hours, directing people to the correct buildings. I have talked to more people during this week and a half than I think I have in a month. And you know what? I wouldn’t change a thing about it.

Yes, training was crazy and stressful. Yes, move-in is crazy and stressful. However, helping people transition to the great part of life that is their college career is so much fun! Students want to know they’ll have fun, and parents want to know their child is safe. The fact that I can directly affect this knowledge makes me feel like the exhaustion is worth it.

Leave a Reply

