About Morgan

Emmys!!!!

I love awards shows, they’re my kryptonite. I adore watching red carpet previews, discussing fashion choices and dissecting the results. I rely heavily on E’s live coverage and Entertainment Weekly’s build-up for the event. Since I’m writing this during commercial breaks, let me just throw out my “Will Win/Should Win/Long-Shot Dream” lists. That way, I can focus on the actual show tonight. However, I may be live-tweeting my reactions during the actual presentation, so consider yourself warned.

Comedy-Series: Modern Family, The Big Bang Theory, Glee, The Office, Parks and Recreation, 30 Rock

Most likely, Modern Family is going to take the Emmy again this year. It’s got a great ensemble cast, sharp writing and a wide appeal (especially for age groups).

I think Parks and Recreation should win. In its third season, the show has really developed its wacky characters into lovable, quirky people that draw in a loyal audience. Though I may be biased, this really is a great show that deserves this honor.

In my dreams, I would love to see The Big Bang Theory win. I have loved this show since it began, and it has such a great cast and range of adventures that it works on every level.

Comedy-Actress: Laura Linney (The Big C), Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie), Amy Poehler (Parks and Recreation), Melissa McCarthy (Mike and Molly), Martha Plimpton (Raising Hope), Tina Fey (30 Rock)

I think Edie Falco and Laura Linney will be duking it out for the prize this year. Both feature on independent programming and deal with the “hard topics” (drug abuse, cancer) with comic aplomb. However, since Falco took the Emmy last year, it may be Linney’s year to shine (…again).

I think Melissa McCarthy should win. The world is finally taking notice of this wonderful actress’ work, and I think it’s time that Emmy recognizes that.

In my hopes of hopes, I would love it if Martha Plimpton won. She does wonders on Raising Hope, and in the sweetest way.

Side note: The Emmys have started. A more succinct listing is now coming.

Comedy-Actor: Alec Baldwin (30 Rock), Johnny Galecki (The Big Bang Theory), Steve Carrell (The Office), Louis C.K. (Louie), Matt LeBlanc (Episodes), Jim Parsons (The Big Bang Theory)

Steve Carrell, much loved in The Office and nominated for the Emmy several times, will most likely take the trophy home tonight. It will be his only Emmy win for his portrayal of Michael Scott, and I think the television community wants to send him off right…

…as well they should! I hate that Carrell hasn’t been awarded the Emmy, and it’s only right for him to get it his last year of eligibility for this role.

Even though I want Steve Carrell to win, Louis C.K. does deserve the recognition for his work on Louie. As a comedian, he tends to take things too far, which is always fantastic for television. That’s how we grow, right?

Drama-Series: Mad Men, Dexter, Boardwalk Empire, The Good Wife, Game of Thrones, Friday Night Lights

Mad Men is a perennial favorite, and it’s definitely favored this year after its tumultuous fourth season.

The Good Wife, however, is such a thorough, character-driven show that I feel it better deserves Emmy’s love. And it doesn’t need the period-piece branding to make it awards-show bait.

With its journey to cancellation and back, Friday Night Lights needs some love. Now that it’s gone again, it needs the recognition.

Drama-Actress: Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife), Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights), Mariska Hargitay (Law and Order: SVU), Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men), Mireille Enos (The Killing), Kathy Bates (Harry’s Law)

Julianna Margulies embodies one of the most complex, well-developed characters in television right now. She deserves an Emmy for her work last season as Alicia (her character) loses trust in her husband…again.

Award juggernaut Mad Men is in no shortage of golden statuettes, as the show, the design staff and actor Jon Hamm have taken home numerous awards. However, Elisabeth Moss plays a woman trying to make it in the man’s world that is advertising, and she faces problems women still face today. She can relate a ’60s working woman to modern day, and I think her performance deserves an award.

Kathy Bates, wonderful woman that she is, probably doesn’t need any awards. I do love her, though, and an award may help the lovely show that is Harry’s Law last a little longer before the new direction kills it.

Drama Actor: Steve Buscemi (Boardwalk Empire), Michael C. Hall (Dexter), Jon Hamm (Mad Men), Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights), Hugh Laurie (House), Timothy Olyphant (Justified)

Like I said, Mad Men tends to win things. Jon Hamm only serves to prove this message year after year, after year.

Like Steve Carrell and Friday Night Lights, Kyle Chandler deserves recognition for his role in Friday Night Lights during this last run.

I can’t lie, I love Timothy Olyphant. I do. But putting him in a Western setting and giving him a badge? How can Emmy ignore that?

Be prepared for my Results/Reaction post tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

