About Morgan · Mizzou

Well, hello!

It seems like forever since I’ve written a new post, and I hate that I’ve let my writing slide. However, I think I have the perfect, reasonable defense that my education, work and obligations come first. How have I been spending my time, you may ask? The last few weeks have carried that dreadful “mid-term” moniker, meaning tests and papers. I’ve been really stressed about my grades this semester, so these assignments were no walk in the park. Thankfully, I used the (ever-so-handy) GPA calculator on BlackBoard (Mizzou’s interactive, online component for classes) to see that I can get all Ds this semester and still be fine. Does this mean I’m going to coast and only work for Ds? Of course not! But it does help take some of the stress out of my life now that I don’t have to worry about keeping perfect straight As for this semester.

As for obligations, I don’t know where you’ve been, but it’s been pretty hectic here at Mizzou. This is probably because we just celebrated our CENTENNIAL HOMECOMING this weekend! Since we started the modern tradition, homecoming is kind of a big deal around here. Any Illinois or Baylor fans out there? You can think you started the tradition all you want, but “NCIS”knows what’s up.

Front page of The Maneater

Homecoming has a lot of great traditions here at Missouri, one of those being “Decorate the District.” Different groups (clubs, Greek organizations, res halls, etc.) decorate buildings downtown in the spirit of homecoming. This year’s theme was “Holidays,” so each group was given a certain holiday to use as inspiration for “Decorate the District,” MIZBBQ, floats, banners, etc. Ours was Mardi Gras, which ended up in great giveaways and fun decorations.

Mardi Gras mask, beads, and noisemaker from the MIZBBQ

As for the homecoming football game itself, only Missouri could have a warm day, complete with sunburns in October. This may or may not be true, but it’s definitely cold now, which only speaks to Missouri’s inability to pick ONE form of weather. My sunburns are always really fun because I wear my awesome Tiger’s Lair sunglasses.

My gold Tiger's Lair sunglasses

Tiger’s Lair? What’s that? It’s only the best (football) spirit section on campus! For homecoming, some of the coordinators created a dance to LMFAO’s “Party Rock Anthem,” and taught it to our 1,600 members. Why? TO PERFORM A FLASH MOB AT HALFTIME OF THE HOMECOMING GAME!! I was worried we’d only get about half of the section to do it, but it turned out to be amazing!!

So, that was what I’ve been doing the last few weeks instead of updating my blog. I promise to (try to) write more often!

Leave a Reply

