About Morgan · Mizzou

Welcome back!

Today, Mizzou buzzed back to life with the start of the spring semester. I have a lot of new goals for the new year, and day one hasn’t been too bad. To keep my focus during classes, I’m going back to handwritten notes. To stay organized, I’m going back to a one-binder-fits-all, middle-school-type system. I’m utilizing time between classes to catch up on supplemental (yeah, SUPPLEMENTAL) readings. I’m happy to call day one a success. The real question is, “Can it last?”

Honestly, I don’t know. My schedule is pretty demanding on both my attention and my motivation this semester. I have four hour-plus classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, which means I have to be on my game for most of the day (bye-bye, midday naps). On the other hand, I’ve got one or two (or NO) classes on Monday, Wednesday, Friday. This tries my motivation, as it can be really tempting to use those empty hours for my Netflix frenzies. What’s a girl to do?

Another goal of mine is to look the part of a quality college student (which I am). Lately, it has been too tempting to roll out of bed and look slouchy all day. It’s comfy, sure, but hardly a professional demeanor. To aid in my efforts of looking like a human being, I’m waking up earlier. The extra time allows me to actually do something with my hair, iron out those wrinkles of a poorly folded t-shirt, even (gasp!) put on makeup. Look the part, be the part.

I don’t want to get ahead of myself; it’s still day one. The best thing I can do right now is to maintain momentum. I need to stay on top of my readings. This binder of mine has to stay neat and orderly. To focus more clearly on my work, maybe I’ll trade an hour of Netflix for an hour of Spotify. There are plenty of solutions, now it’s just a matter of getting the job done.

For all the other college kids swearing they’ll change, best of luck. If it makes you feel better, we’re in this together.

Leave a Reply

