About Morgan · Mizzou · Social Media

Obsession, thy name is Internet

Guys, the Internet died last Thursday! Well, not really. Mizzou Wireless, which pretty much everyone uses for Internet access on campus, was dealing with some technical issues that left campus bereft. That’s right, bereft.

This is how everyone reacted.
This is how everyone reacted. [my source]
It didn’t help that the cell networks were barely trudging along, either. Since it was a Thursday, this girl was on campus (therefore, away from my ethernet cord) from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. I was barely able to access Twitter through my phone, where I catalogued my distress. Why was I so upset? I couldn’t watch the latest episode of “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.” I tried so hard, but my phone just wouldn’t load more than the first ten seconds.

Me, trying (and failing) to watch #tLBD
Me, trying (and failing) to watch #tLBD [my source]
Obviously, everything’s fine now. This happened almost a week ago, for crying out loud. My problem now is figuring out how I’m going to deal with my apparent Internet obsession. I’ve written about my co-dependent relationship with my phone, and maybe that’s the issue. I’m so used to feeling connected, but does that really excuse my terrible mood when the Internet is unavailable?

I am! I just have an unhealthy need to read BuzzFeed and Twitter.
I am! I just have an unhealthy need to read BuzzFeed and Twitter. [my source]
How did my Internet habit get so ingrained? My theory: college ruins everything. That’s probably a gross overstatement, but think about it. To get into college, I used Common App, an online service that required me to check in frequently for updates. Once I was accepted to Mizzou, I had to check my email constantly. I guess it all snowballed from there. Between Facebook and email, is it any wonder I succumbed to the short and quick bursts of information offered by Twitter? Since that fateful day nearly two years ago (you know, the day that little blue bird settled indefinitely on my shoulder), I have also acquired accounts with Instagram, Vine, Pinterest, GetGlue, etc., etc.

I actually get excited when checking out a new social networking site.
I actually get excited when checking out a new social networking site. I don’t think twice about joining, as long as it means no one else can get my preferred username. [my source]
I definitely live a part of my life online, clearly. Spread thin across several platforms, do I have one, clear online personality? I really don’t know. I’m not even sure I know what a “clear” personality would look like in real life. I guess I’ll leave questions of personality up to the friends and family that have to put up with me everyday.

On the bright side, Mizzou Wireless was back the next day!
On the bright side, Mizzou Wireless was back the next day! [my source]
P.S. I have also been reading too much BuzzFeed, apparently. I will try to use gifs in my posts, but only if I find relevant scenes that I can source on language-appropriate sites (really, Tumblr is not for the faint of heart). Why use gifs? They break up the boring text with a fun, visual interpretation. Love it? Hate it? Eh, that’s what the comments section was made for. Have at it!

2 thoughts on “Obsession, thy name is Internet

Leave a Reply

