TV Time

Summer entertainment drought

Summer 2013, you’re kind of killing me with the lack of fresh, scripted television. I can be a picky viewer, sure, but all I’m asking for is something new to watch. Summer used to be about guilty pleasures, watching the terrible soapiness of completely exaggerated plot lines.The closest we get to that these days is ABC’s Mistresses, which I can’t even bring myself to watch. Nothing against the show itself, but I miss the Alyssa Milano of Charmed. I hate to think that she’s been relegated to summer TV fare.

Right? Right?! [my source]
Right? Right?! [my source]
 Of course, summer series aren’t always awful. I’ll be more than happy to eat my words if Mistresses is still around three years from now. I’m still watching Rookie Blue on ABC, and it’s on the fourth season. It’s not really a summer series, though. To me, the summer schedule is about distracting us until our favorite shows return in the fall with a bevy of new, high-budget pilots. Rookie Blue is a solid cop procedural with relationship drama, and it’s just too heavy for me to say, “This is obviously for summer.” Even that wouldn’t be so bad if the show would stop getting pre-empted for other programming (Thanks, NBA finals).

I thought this was an appropriate illustration of my interrupted programming schedule. [my source]
I thought this was an appropriate illustration of my interrupted programming schedule. [my source]
A better example of distracting summer fare is Baby Daddy on sister network, ABC Family. It’s a cute, little half-hour comedy that plays out Three Men and a Baby without Tom Selleck’s wonderful ‘stache. There’s a precious baby to steal scenes, Tahj Mowry for nostalgia, Melissa Peterman for broad comedic draw, and a generally attractive cast. There’s laughs and awws. Perfectly fluffy for non-committal watching.

You said it, Magnum. [my source]
You said it, Magnum. [my source]
That’s it, though. These are the only in-season shows that I’m watching this summer. The rest of my time is filled with Law and Order: SVU marathons and whatever movies I can find flipping through the channels. While I am a champ at channel surfing, this gets exhausting over the long break. Frankly, it’s upsetting that a TV nut such as myself can’t find a new outlet for my obsession.

Substitute "TV" for "rum," and you have my general attitude. [my source]
Substitute “TV” for “rum,” and you have my general attitude. [my source]
The USA network is impressing me, since it rolled out Graceland and will bring back fan favorites Suits and Covert Affairs. The returners are solid shows with definite summer sizzle, but I wish I had more access to give Graceland the chance it deserves. Aaron Tveit is one of my favorite “that guy” actors, and I’m happy he has finally become a selling point. Unfortunately, I haven’t watched the show enough to give a complete opinion. At this point, I’m happy with “hopeful.”

No promises, USA Network. No promises. [my source]
No promises, USA Network. No promises. [my source]
Maybe I am being too picky. I clearly have shows I deem worth watching, but I don’t make the time for them. I’m just not excited for this summer’s offerings. Luckily, fall pilot season is on its way…

Leave a Reply

